Gluten-Free, Multigrain Sandwich Bread

Hi everyone! Well, I have been hard at work creating the perfect recipe for a gluten-free, multigrain sandwich bread. Not an easy task! But it has been so much fun to play, experiment and EAT! Yes, you heard correctly. Eating these samples has been very enjoyable. Nice flavor, not like cardboard and the whole family loves it! I know I will tweak it just a bit more, but here is the recipe as is currently stands:


Gluten-Free Multigrain Sandwich Bread
3 Eggs (I have also used egg beaters) – room temp is best
3 1/2 Tbsp Canola oil
2/3 Cup Millet Flour
1/2 Cup Sorghum Flour
1/3 Cup Teff Flour *
1/2 Cup Cornstarch
1/2 Cup Potato Starch
1/2 Cup Tapioca Flour
2 1/4 tsp Xanthan Gum
3/4 tsp Salt
1 3/4 tsp Unflavored Gelatin
2 1/2 Tbsp Granulated Sugar
1 packet Dry Active Yeast (2 1/4 tsp)
1 Cup Almond Milk – warm, but not too hot
4 Tbsp Ground Chia Seeds **
* If you don’t have Teff Flour, just use 1 cup of the Millet Flour. I think the Teff adds a richer taste.

** You can use ground flax if you have that.  I have done it with both.

Whisk eggs and oil in a bowl and set aside.
Whisk all dry ingredients in a bowl (stand mixer) until well blended (except for the ground chia seeds). While mixer is on low, add egg/oil mixture and warm milk and mix until well blended. Scrape sides of bowl, then beat on medium-high for 3 1/2 – 4 minutes. Mix in ground chia seeds until well blended.
Pour dough into prepared bread pan (just spray it well with cooking spray, and I have used both an 8 1/2 and a 9 inch pan) and spread evenly with spatula. Cover loosely with a light towel (you can also pray plastic wrap and cover with that.  I did that in the pictures below for viewing purposes). Let rise is a warm, draft-free place for 30-35 minutes. Don’t let it proof too long or it will likely fall after baking. You won’t want it to proof and higher than an inch above the pan, so keep an eye on it.  While bread is rising, preheat oven to 350 degrees.


Place bread in preheated oven and bake for about 50 minutes, gently resting a piece of foil over it after the first 10 minutes.  This will keep it from getting too dark. Bread should sound hollow when tapped on the top.  I usually turn of the oven after 50 minutes and let it sit for a few minutes in the oven before pulling it out.
Pull bread out and let sit in the pan for a few minutes.  Then tip it out of the pan and let cool.  The bread should just come right out.


To store, cover well in aluminum foil.  I do it while it is still slightly warm. I then place the wrapped bread in a Ziplock bag. You can store it on the counter this way for a couple of days, but any longer and you will want to store it in the refrigerator or freezer. In my house, it doesn’t last long enough to freeze! We actually just leave it out on the counter in the foil/ziplock since it only lasts about 2-3 days tops!
Enjoy
Check out more bread recipes at The Gluten-Free  Homemaker!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks, I’ll give that one a try as soon as I can pick up some chia seeds. Your bread looks wonderful!

    Jen

    Reply

    • Great! If you have ground flax seeds, you can substitute that for the ground chia seeds. I like the chia because it doesn’t have much of a flavor, but it has all, of not more, of the nutritional value. Enjoy!

      Reply

  2. Do you think more potato and tapioca starch could be added instead of corn starch for people that are corn free?

    Reply

  3. This looks great! Much nicer than mine. LOL! I would love to highlight this recipe next week, but you need to add a link back. Thanks for participating in Gluten-Free Wednesdays.

    Reply

    • Thank you! I am more than happy to link back. I have learned so much from you, Linda! This recipe is not perfect yet, but my family likes it and it is not as dry the next day as everything else I have tried. Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a comment